AOC - Ranger

General discussion about other games, links to reviews, demos, etc - let us know about whats up and coming

Moderators: Funkmasterr, noel

Deward
Way too much time!
Way too much time!

AOC - Ranger

Post by Deward »

Well I used my Father's day gift and bought this game. I am currently playing a ranger and am up to level 16. Levelling is so damn fast in this game. I think I got to level 10 in the first hour. I am still stuck in Tortage and pretty much doing every quest imaginable.

I am by no means an expert on the Ranger class but these are my observations so far.

I have tried both bow and crossbow so far and both have their advantages. Bow is nice because it is very fast and you can use salvo. My problem is that I can never get those two button combos to work. Crossbow is nice because it has greater range and usually does more damage in a single hit. I recently found an upgrade for my bow and switched to that. I plan to switch back and forth depending on what I find.

Ranger also has the ability to hide. When he shoots from this hidden state it mezzes the mob for a short time. That is nice but the hide ability takes too long to reset so you can't use it all that often.

Being low level, I have not really found the feats that useful yet. I have also found that melee does a lot better than the ranged for me. In a group the bow does a good job but I have rarely been grouped and find that my melee is used a lot. Luckily, there are a lot of easy melee combos that seem to do good damage. I find that I can take on 5 even level mobs or one big one 4 levels higher than me.

The Bads: