Mode/Router Firmware question

Support, Discussion, Reviews
Kriista
Star Farmer
Star Farmer

Mode/Router Firmware question

Post by Kriista »

I recently got vigin broadband, it came with a normal(cable) modem. I still have my old Westell Versalink 327W that I had when I had bellsouth as an ISP. After some preliminary tests I figured I couldnt just use it as a router, but after some more googling it turns out you can.

Now, I'm not very good at wireless/networking type things. I know enough to build a computer, and to setup simple networking things, but this is over my head here.

While changing the settings with instructions from here:

http://www.dslreports.com/forum/remark,17342678

the router froze or seomthing similar. the DSL light stopped flashing, so I'm assuming the WAN setting was succesful, but I couldnt get back to the router menu no matter what I did. So I pressed the reset button on the back of the modem/router.

This reset it back to default installation mode, where it asks me for my username/password (bellsouth ones) after putting anything in, it goes to a 'DSL sync' screen, and stays there, presumably trying to connect to the nonexistant DSL service.

I guess my question is, is there anyway around this? Perhaps via some router commands, or alternate(non-bellsouth) firmware?

It would be a shame to have to buy another wireless router just because this one is stuck at a step, even though it would do what I would want it to do.
noel
Super Poster!
Super Poster!

Post by noel »

I would seriously recommend not wasting your time on this. This is in no way meant to sound rude or dismissive, but I think you'll be far better served just purchasing a newer wireless router. They're really cheap these days, even if you get it somewhere like Best Buy you'll only pay like $50 for the lower end models. You can get them far cheaper online.

The configuration will be MUCH easier.
The featureset and security functionality will be far better.