What to look for in a starter bike?

Cars, Autos, Horseless Carriage, Wheeled Buggy -- whatever you want to call them. Talk about them here!
Ransure
Way too much time!
Way too much time!

What to look for in a starter bike?

Post by Ransure »

Ok, so Im pretty new to all this stuff. I have avoided buying a bike in the past due to fear of killing myself... which is still a possibility, but I also think I can learn to ride responsibly.

I am going to be taking the MSF class as soon as I can, but I want to be looking at bikes at the same time.

So, what things should I be looking for in a starter bike? Can I get away with a $2k budget for a bike that might only last me until next spring? Also, what size engine? Im 6' 210lbs... so Im not small by any means. Any brands or models that are particularly reliable? stay away from? Im looking for a street bike, something that wont leave me stranded and can cruise a bit on the highway, I dont need crazy 0-60 times or anything else...

Here are the bikes that others have recommended, but thats just models.. not milages and things to look for.

CBR F2/F3, FZR600 or a SV650... any others to look at? and what stuff should I be looking for when shopping Ebay and such...
This 2cp has been brought to you by DOKURANGER!
Canoe
Way too much time!
Way too much time!

Post by Canoe »

Ransure - Just some basic tips for starter riders -

1) Don't get anything with too much "balls" - like you said, you want a bike to learn on - not kill yourself on. Once you ride it for a year, then upgrade - most bikes in that price range if you take care of it, you can get the same money back out of it easy with only 500-1000 more miles.

2) Are you looking for a crotch rocket or a cruiser? For starter bikes - I always recommend a cruiser. Stay away from Harley - they are generally over priced. If you want a harley "look alike" - Honda makes several really nice bikes.