exercise, food, getting older

No holds barred discussion. Someone train you and steal your rare spawn? Let everyone know all about it! (Not for the faint of heart!)

Moderator: TheMachine

Sueven
Way too much time!
Way too much time!

exercise, food, getting older

Post by Sueven »

I'm 27 years old.

Aside: That means I started playing EQ with some of you when I was, like, 15.

Maybe a little more than 5 years ago, when I was in college, I started thinking about exercise. I had never really exercised before. I have a fast metabolism, and I've always been at least somewhat active and I played some pickup sports, so I was at least in reasonable shape. But I had never really seriously been to a gym, never exercised in any formal way, never really committed myself to anything that would challenge me physically. I'm about 5'11 and i weighed probably 145-150 pounds. I was skinny.

Anyway, at some point I thought to myself "well, I've more or less mastered the mental part of life. Now I should master the physical part." I remember the exact words I thought. It was a silly thing to think. I hadn't "mastered the mental part of life." I was 22 years old and in college. I hadn't mastered anything. I had as much wisdom and perspective as you'd expect out of a 22 year old. What I had done-- and maybe this is what I was getting at at the time-- was developed a pretty good set of mental and emotional tools. I had read a lot, talked to a bunch of people, experienced as much as I could. I was set up pretty well so that, going forward, I could handle the mental and emotional challenges that life would throw at me.