My arms are being weird

Forum for kung fu, and grappling, and dolphins, and street fights, and body building, and.....

Moderator: The Kwon

Sueven
Way too much time!
Way too much time!

My arms are being weird

Post by Sueven »

So,

I started lifting a year ago. Most of my muscle groups have been progressing well, and in concert. Almost every muscle group is very close to twice as strong as it was when I began.

But my biceps and my triceps are acting strangely. When I started, my biceps were substantially stronger than my triceps. I understand that this is normal. I treat the two muscles very similarly. I don't do a whole lot of work which isolates them. Usually, I'll do sets of tricep extensions and bicep curls, and that's about it for isolation. I do plenty of other exercises that engage those muscles-- chest presses, pec flies, lat pulldowns, dips, push-ups, pull-ups, seated rows, wide rows, dumbell pullovers, etc etc etc. I think that there's a roughly even balance between exercises that engage the biceps and those that engage the triceps here.

The weird thing is: My triceps are growing and gaining strength at monumental rates. I've probably tripled my tricep strength, and the muscles themselves have grown pretty huge (at least, huge relative to my overall muscle mass, which is not that much). My biceps initially started growing and gaining strength, but have now stagnated for several months. I haven't been able to increase my reps or weights on bicep curls for a long time, and they haven't really been growing, either. I'm now at the bizarre point where I do precisely as much weight on my triceps as I do on my biceps.

What should I do? Just focus on my biceps more and do more exercises for them? Don't worry about it? Eat more protein?
Tegellan
Way too much time!
Way too much time!

Re: My arms are being weird

Post by Tegellan »

Do more isolation exercises for your biceps.