Salary Negotiation

No holds barred discussion. Someone train you and steal your rare spawn? Let everyone know all about it! (Not for the faint of heart!)

Moderator: TheMachine

Leonaerd
Way too much time!
Way too much time!

Salary Negotiation

Post by Leonaerd »

I'm about to get moved up from intern to full time officially. This means going from hourly pay to salaried. I've never been in this position so I'm looking for tips on how to maximize my bankroll here.

A little background: I work as a "Jr Network Engineer." Essentially, I do tier one maintenance and projects. I oversee a lot of our switching infrastructure, make minor improvements, monitor our syslog, troubleshoot small issues, manage equipment moves, circuit failovers, etc. I have no credentials other than my CCNA. The rest of the team loves me, I'm earnest, constantly getting more responsibility and in general, I get shit done. This is a relatively small, agile company and without me, there would be a void to be filled.

Currently, I get paid much less than a typical industry professional. I'm sure they'll try to keep me from getting too big of a raise due to my lack of credentials, and to counter this I figure I can bring up examples of the wages somebody who does similar work typically earns.

Thanks guyz.
Sueven
Way too much time!
Way too much time!

Re: Salary Negotiation

Post by Sueven »

I feel like, usually, the biggest leverage questions in a salary negotiation are: How much does your employer need you, and how many other options do you have?

Without knowing all that much about your situation, and without having the first fucking clue about what you do (what the hell is a circuit failover):