Fishing

What do you think about the sports world?
Keverian FireCry
Way too much time!
Way too much time!

Fishing

Post by Keverian FireCry »

In the past most of the fishing I've done was up in the mountains of Washington State (Olympics/Cascades). I did just fine with a cheap-ass rod/reel combo and caught lots of rainbow trout, which were often just big enough to throw on the fire and eat.

However I want to fish more often which means going to a beach, dock, or a friends boat in the Puget Sound(aka Seattle). That's northwest saltwater we're talking about, with a huge variety of sea-life.

Since I'm a beginner I didn't spend hundreds on a rod and reel, but I did get a considerable upgrade from the chintzy $25 rod/reel combo I had before.

I now have a Master Blackfinn 21, which is a 6'6" inch fiberglass rod that can deal with 10-25lb line. The reel I bought today(guess it's yesterday now) is an Okuma Helix II H-65, which can handle up to a 20lb line.

I know there aren't many here who live near or fish in Puget Sound, but I'm looking for general fishing tips, techniques, etc. Individual experiences with different lures, bait, depths, etc. for certain kinds of saltwater fish. I love fishing, but I'm a total noob so don't expect me to know every term. I didn't even know wtf a 'leader' was till today.

Thanks in advance. :)
Kilmoll the Sexy
Super Poster!
Super Poster!
XBL Gamertag: bunkeru2k

Re: Fishing

Post by Kilmoll the Sexy »

You probably need Rich to take you out for a weekend of man-love and teachings. My only real advice is to spend some jack on one of the superlines like PowerPro or Spiderwire. They are going to be smaller in diameter and much much stronger than other types of line.

I do a lot of inland fresh water stuff so can't help out to much with the baits for salties. Give me those crazy fighting smallmouth bass or give me nothing!
Canelek
Super Poster!
Super Poster!
XBL Gamertag: Canelek

Post by Canelek »